Home Again!

It’s been a very long time since I last posted anything, besides the rant about today’s media and I know what people are thinking – original dude, find a new topic.

Anyway, the main reason I haven’t posted is because I’ve not had access to my laptop and I prefer having all the functionality of the actual website, especially with adding photos. I’m writing this on the plane as I return to Doha after a really enjoyable 3 weeks at home. How time flies! But wait, didn’t I say I want to write it up on a laptop? Yes that’s correct however, I’ll get this written on my iPad, save it and then tweak it when I get back. Ah the joys of these expensive apple devices. My iPhone is currently sat on my table next to me and of course I’m typing on this so I must look like a bit of an Apple Fanboy! Anyway, here is my view currently!

So on the 6th of September I finally received my multi exit permit and my staff travel. Happy times and the beginning of a very long day. I woke up that morning at 6am, got ready and went out the door to sort out the exit permit. That took around an hour, I then went and informed them that I’d be away for a week or two, this took another hour. I then got a taxi back to my apartment for 10:00, booked my flight which was to leave at 12:30 and then got a lift with a friend to the airport to wait around for another 30mins whilst more people checked in. I was disappointed to find that I hadn’t gotten my business class seat as I was tired, having not slept much and awoken at 6am. I was pleased to find that I did mange to get on the flight, despite it being economy, because I was eager to return home. I was missing England and reasonable temperatures. You may even go as far to say that I was missing my family!

The flight was wonderful, as I expected from Qatar Airways and as I approached England I was getting ever more excited. The first glimpse of cloud was a wonderful sight for me, I hadn’t seen one cloud since arriving in Doha and then came the greenery of the various countries we over flew. Such sights I never thought I’d miss. As we approached England, from over the Channel, I felt home. My stepdad and mum were on their way to pick me up but I had an extra couple of hours wait so first things first, I walked outside terminal 4 and stood in the cool temperature of the UK. Second, I set myself up on a comfy sofa in Costa Coffee, killed some zombies on COD:Zombies and got in touch with people that I hadn’t spoken to for a while. The 2 hours flew by and soon I was sat with my mum and stepdad, having a bacon panini, which was oh so heavenly, and then I was on my way home.

I was treated to a couple of bottles of Ale, a back garden BBQ in the rare heat of the British Summer and was extremely happy to be home with my family. It’s funny how you notice the safety that being at home brings and instantly, any anxieties I had about my up coming adventures in my new home had faded. I arranged plans for the coming week, seeing old friends, seeing my nana and going to stay with my dad. I even crashed a leaving night out for one of my old bosses at Boots which turned out to be a fantastic night. I’d forgotten how much fun it was to hang out with the Boots lot, as one of the guys said on the day it was 224 days since I had left. I couldn’t believe it. 9 months had passed since I left Boots and since I’d seen my old friends. Time certainly does fly and it’s moments like these that bring about realisations just how precious time is and how you have to try your best to live in the present so that life doesn’t just pass you by. The day after arriving home we went to a local village to check out the scarecrow festival that they do every year, there were some extremely impressive creations as you can see here.

My dad lives in the countryside just outside of Grimsby, it’s full of greens, yellows and browns of the different fields and of course, many many trees and plant life. It was extremely refreshing to be back in the countryside, surrounded by these different colours and everyday we went for 6-8 mile walks around the area. We made a point of including the local pub in our trails so that we may sit outside, in the sun, with a pint of fine ale.

A good friend of mine had been working on a sculpture for a little while and on one of the days we took a road trip to Birmingham to a foundry to get the sculpture cast. Typically it was raining and miserable outside, the roads leading into Birmingham had a bit of flooding that was causing the traffic to build up but once we got there we were shown around this foundry that was basically a shed with a few tools to create moulds and carry out the casting procedure. It looks like the sculpture won’t be ready for a few months as the foundry has massive orders to fill but looking at the work the foundry has done in the past, it is set to be pretty spectacular. The sculpture is of a woman kneeling down with her arms spread out in a pose. It’s taken him around 5 weeks of work to get right and it’s certainly been worth it as she’s turned out beautiful.

It’s difficult to know what to put into posts like these; the ones you know that are going to be long essays of stuff that only I would care to read about because it’s always nice to look back and read about times that were good when you’re going through tough ones. I think that last sentence has spurred me on to include more.

I met up with a couple of really close friends that I hadn’t seen for 9 months, one of which I hadn’t heard from for a while as she had spent the year busy sorting out wedding plans and moving to London. We went into a local village and had a cup of tea and cheese cake, certainly a winning combination, and she told me all about her husband, who I haven’t met and all about the wedding and honeymoon. I’m sad I wasn’t able to attend the wedding due to being away in Doha but she seems so happy now and throughout my time knowing her, she’s worried and stressed more than I! It seems her husband keeps her grounded which is fantastic, i’m so happy she’s met someone that is deserving of her as she’s such a wonderful person. I met my other close friend for a pint and some food at a pub in Nottingham where, I was able to get Hob Goblin on draught! This made me happy beyond belief as I’m a huge fan of Hob Goblin. It was great to catch up, unfortunately 3 hours was not enough time but hopefully, when I’m back next, I’ll be able to meet up for another catch up.

My sister started university last week which was a great moment for us all, she’d been so undecided with what she wants to do with her life that I don’t think any of us ever saw her actually choosing and going for it. She seems to enjoy what she’s doing and hopefully she works hard to achieve what she is capable of achieving. She’s also moved to student halls so she can participate in the student lifestyle. Her student halls are filled with many good looking girls so I think I’m going to go to university and enjoy myself! I spent a fair bit of time getting her new laptop, printer, wifi etc all set up for her because I’m nice like that!

I went to see Paul Carrack from Mike and The Mechanics at The Glee Club in Nottingham which was a fantastic night out! I’ve long been a fan of Mike and The Mechanics and Paul Carracks voice is just spectacular, he sounds exactly the same live as he does on his records.

Before long it was time to fly back to Doha, the 3 weeks had flown by!

That’s enough rambling from me I think, until next time.

Journeym4n

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

