Sailing The Doha Coast

On my second day back in Doha, a friend and I decided the weather was good enough to go out on his boat. We’d been trying to get out on it all summer but the weather has been so hot that you’d just burn.

This single masted, triple sail, 20 foot boat was our chariot for the day. Depending on wind, the Main Sail and Jib are the sails usually the only those used however, there is aย spinnaker available to if the wind drops.

My friend had promised to teach me to sail a while ago so today was my first lesson, he showed me how to set up the sails and prepare the boat to go out. It wasn’t too difficult and within about 10 minutes we were ready to push back from the mooring and get under way. There’s a small 8 horse power engine on the back of the boat that we could use to get out of the harbour however the wind was pushing us along nicely.

He taught me about Jib control and ducking under, also about optimum angle of attack of the boat and sails to the wind. There are 2 spots on the Job that allow you to gauge whether the airflow over the sail is flowing in a smooth and laminar fashion. After a little while I felt I was able to feel it without looking and 9 times out of 10 I was just about spot on. I was allowed the opportunity to change direction of the boat and pull on the Jib lines to get it to inflate on the correct side. It involved pulling on one line whilst releasing another, whilst steering the boat to the other side. I have to say, I need a bit more practise at doing the steering at the same time because whilst changing sides I allowed the rudder to deflect a little too much and ended up having a high rate of turn.

More time at required at the gym? Maybe!

Our approximate track around the Doha coast, our total time out was around 3 – 3.5 hours.

By the time we headed back in, the sun was setting and one thing that is beautiful about this place is the Arabian sunset. It’s absolutely gorgeous. We put the spinnaker up for the last bit as the wind had dropped and made our way back towards the harbour.

All in all, it was an absolutely fantastic day of sailing, I cannot wait to go out again and hopefully soon I’ll be able to sail all on my own. I’ve been told I can take the boat out on my own when I can cope with it so that’s my goal! I hope you’ve enjoyed looking at the photos as much as I enjoyed sailing the boat and taking them!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sailing The Doha Coast

  1. Wow, this looks amazing!

    • Journeym4n says:

      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ It really was ๐Ÿ™‚ Cannot wait to go again! How’s the flying going?

      • blondiegoespilot says:

        I can imagine! Not flying at all at the moment, just theory until march (last 4 courses of the ATPL). I’ve done a little more than 20 hours MEP on a PA31 since summer, which was awesome:) We will get back to it in spring, looking forward to it! How is life? Are you working a lot?

      • Journeym4n says:

        Wow until March? What do they think is the benefit of you not flying for so long?! You’ll be rusty as anything when you get back into it. 20 hours is good ๐Ÿ™‚ It does look like a nice plane to fly :). Life’s slow and I’m constantly poor at the moment with paying bills and saving for a place to live haha. I’m back home in England at the moment because I’ve been delayed until January and I’d rather be bored here than in Doha lol. What about you? :-). I bet the theory is driving you insane, I know it did me but at least at the time I was doing theory and flying at the same time. They were long long days – 14 hours at least but still a lot better than doing just theory :-).

  2. I guess they do it like that so that we can stay focused on the theory part.. It doesn’t feel to good though, so I’m considering a membership at the local club to get at least a few hours in the air:) I like it very much, even if it is quite old! I see! Are you trying to find something permanent in Doha? Haha, that sounds nice:) Why have you been delayed? Well yes, and it doesn’t get much better living out in nowhere (Ljungbyhed airport used to be a military station, but now it’s more like a ghost town, and the “city” of Ljungbyhed has 2000 inhabitants:p). The positive side is that it’s not easy to get distracted ๐Ÿ™‚ Mm, I’m glad it’s not like that right now, but it’s amazing what you can cope with if you just have to!

    • That was obviously meant as a reply to your last comment, posted it wrong ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Journeym4n says:

        I guess but it’s really a very bad way of learning the theory because it will numb your mind so much and you won’t have flying to look forward to for a while. Also, afterwards, you’re going to feel so rusty, they’re idiots. I think getting a flying club membership is a good idea, if you can afford it, keep you flying :-).
        Yeah I have to move out of my company accommodation, I’d rather stay and avoid the hassle but they’ve said I can’t so I’m saving up a mini fortune to be able to move out. Delays are due to the amount of pilots they are trying to get on the line, basically puts me at the bottom of the pile lol.
        Haha wow that must get boring!! What do you do for fun (that isn’t flying)?

      • Sorry for the very very late reply! I’ve had my nose stuck in the books the last couple of weeks.
        How is your act of saving up a fortune coming along?
        Ah, I see, but that must mean that they are in need of pilots, which is a good thing:) Do you know how long it will be before you can continue?
        We drink to survive;)
        Well, not really, but we try to have a party every once in a while, go out to eat in a nearby town, drive to the closest shopping mall (which is actually a very big one), and we have a tradition of having a quiz every wednesday. The last one is my favorite:)

Leave a Reply

